Art Collection

The Nine is proud to support and showcase the works of female artists from around the world.
In addition to temporary exhibitions, we also have a permanent collection, expertly curated by Stephanie Manasseh of SM Art Advisory.
From large-scale canvases to textured rope art, we invite you to learn more about the pieces in our art collection, and the women who created them.


Alejandra Aristizabal

Alejandra was born in Manizales, Colombia (b.1987). She studied Visual Arts at Miami International University of Art & Design, where she explored painting, photography and sculpture. In 2016 she moved to Madrid, where she pursued a Masters in Communication Design, at the IED Istituto Europeo di Design.

Her studies brought her closer to Colombia’s textiles and natural resources, discovering the artistic and social possibilities around Fique plant - Furcraea andina - a species native to the South American Andean region, and one of the Colombian national fibres. Alejandra decided to focus on this material to create beautiful pieces of art that have a purpose and highlight the sense of collaboration, sustainability, and love for mother earth.

With her art she aims to open conversations about nature, social narratives, and manual traditions. Alejandra lives and works in Bogotá, Colombia.


Juliette Lemontey

Juliette Lemontey trained at the Regional School of Fine Arts in Valence, France, where she specialised in zinc engraving.

A particularity of Juliette’s work is that she never goes back on what has been put on the canvas. Even if her canvases are first sketched in charcoal, she gives them a definitive character by leaving them visible, in order to make errors and accidents visible.

In addition, she recovers old canvases as a support, their aged colour becoming itself a component of her painting palette. Juliette creates her own painting tools, and the pigments she uses allow her to compose very personal and singular colours, such as the velvety matt black that elegantly dresses the hair of her isolated characters.

In so doing, she appeals to our sensitivity, not only artistic and aesthetic, but also, and simply, human. Juliette lives and works between Grenoble and Paris.


Katie Levinson

Katie Levinson (b. 1985) is a mixed-media artist melding elements of architecture and design in conceptual artworks. Her work is minimal, calling on the stark space and sparse objects to communicate in as little gesture as possible. The systematic order satisfies our primal desire to catalogue our experiences and environment. Katie currently lives and works in Brooklyn, NY, USA.


Diana Valarezo

Diana Valarezo is an Ecuadorian visual artist. Her nomadic life and her sojourns in China, Senegal, Peru, and Myanmar have enhanced her reflection on the symbiosis and exchange between cultures and their reciprocal influences. Diana graduated from the Art School of the Central University of Ecuador, and achieved a Diploma at the CAFA in Beijing 2000. She also studied Visual Anthropology at PUCP and Ceramics with Sonia Céspedes Rossel in Lima. Diana won first prize for the National Printing Competition at the House of Culture of Ecuador in 1993, and was awarded ‘First Honor’ at the Biennale in Lima, 1997. Diana’s artistic practice is not static, or frozen through the use of a single medium, but travels as she does. She makes use of various media and techniques (painting, photography, engraving, installation, ceramic, performance) to formalise her thoughts of the world. The shapes and colours become a pretext, a parenthesis to make us travel inside her creative world. Diana currently resides in Brussels, Belgium.


VON ALLIN

VON ALLIN is a German minimalist “contemporary artista”. Her unique perspective on life’s impalpable essence results in her strong, intimidating – and sometimes playful art.

After graduating from the Design Academie Berlin, VON ALLIN pursued a career in leading German design agencies. Being in a constant search for the perfect medium to express her minimalist vision, VON ALLIN travelled the world, until she decided to trade her career in design for fine art.

She experiments with a wide range of different mediums and techniques including monochrome painting, mixed-media, and installations. VON ALLIN draws her inspiration from her personal struggle to understand and cope with certain emotions, thoughts, or situations. Her journey of capturing the quintessence of life also unfolded her dedication to colour, as seen in her monochrome painting series.

Here, minimalistic forms provide the perfect backdrop for her strong art. VON ALLIN currently lives in Bonn, Germany.

Collection d'oeuvres d'art

"The Nine" est fier de soutenir et d’exposer les œuvres de femmes artistes de par le monde.
En plus d'organiser des expositions temporaires, il possède aussi une collection permanente, choisie avec soin par Stephanie Manasseh du "SM Art Advisory".
Des peintures impressionnantes aux œuvres plus abstraites, nous vous invitons à en apprendre plus sur les différentes pièces de notre collection d’œuvres d’arts ainsi que sur les femmes qui les ont créées.


Alejandra Aristizabal

Alejandra est née à Manizales en Colombie en 1987. Elle étudia les Arts Visuels à l’Université Internationale d’Art et de Design de Miami où elle découvrit la peinture, la photographie et la sculpture. En 2016, elle déménagea à Madrid où elle poursuivit son master dans les techniques de design de communication visuelle au “IED Istituto Europeo di Design”.

Ses études la rapprochèrent des ressources naturelles et textiles de la Colombie, découvrant par la même les possibilités artistiques et sociales se concentrant autour de l’agave - Furcraea andina – une espèce originaire de la région des Andes en Amérique du Sud et l’une des fibres nationales de la Colombie. Alejandra a décidé de se concentrer sur ce matériel afin de créer de magnifiques oeuvres d’art ayant un but et soulignant les idées de coopération, d’écologie et d’amour pour Mère Nature.

Avec son art elle vise à ouvrir le dialogue sur la nature, la société et les traditions manuelles. Alejandra vit et travaille à Bogota en Colombie.


Juliette Lemontey

Juliette Lemontey fit ses études à l’Ecole Régionale des Beaux-Arts à Valence en France où elle se spécialisa dans la gravure sur zinc. Une des particularités du travail de Juliette est qu’elle ne revient jamais sur ce qu’elle a mis sur sa toile. Même si ses oeuvres sont d’abord dessinées à l’aide de charbon, elle leur donne une touche de caractère en laissant visible ses brouillons afin de montrer aussi les essais et erreurs commises durant ce processus.

De plus, elle réutilise d’anciennes toiles, leur jaunissement devenant alors partie intégrante de sa nouvelle oeuvre. Juliette créé ses propres outils de peinture et les pigments qu’elle utilise lui permettent de créer des couleurs singulières mais surtout personnelles tel que le noir velour mat dessinant la chevelure de ses personnages isolés.

Grâce à cela, elle fait appel à notre sensibilité, non seulement artistique et esthétique, mais aussi, tout simplement, humaine. Juliette vit et travaille entre Grenoble et Paris.


Katie Levinson

Katie Levinson, née en 1985, est une artiste polyvalente mélangeant des éléments d’architecture et de design dans ses oeuvres d’art conceptuelles. Celles-ci sont minimalistes,comptant sur la division de l’espace et les objects dispersés pour communiquer avec le moins d’indications possibles. Cet ordre méthodique satisfait notre instinct primaire de cataloguer nos expériences et notre environnement. Katie vit et travaille actuellement dans le quartier de Brooklyn à New York aux Etats-Unis.


Diana Valarezo

Diana Valarezo est une artiste visuelle équatorienne. Sa vie nomade et ses séjours en Chine, au Sénégal, au Pérou et au Myanmar ont enrichi sa réflexion sur la symbiose et l'échange entre les cultures et leurs influences réciproques. Diana est diplômée de l'école d'art de l'université centrale de l'Équateur et a obtenu un diplôme à la CAFA de Pékin en 2000. Elle a également étudié l'anthropologie visuelle à la PUCP et la céramique avec Sonia Céspedes Rossel à Lima. Diana a remporté le premier prix du concours national d'impression à la Maison de la culture de l'Équateur en 1993, et a reçu le "premier honneur" à la Biennale de Lima en 1997. La pratique artistique de Diana n'est pas statique, ni figée par l'utilisation d'un seul support, mais elle voyage comme elle le fait. Elle utilise divers médias et techniques (peinture, photographie, gravure, installation, céramique, performance) pour formaliser ses réflexions sur le monde. Les formes et les couleurs deviennent un prétexte, une parenthèse pour nous faire voyager à l'intérieur de son univers créatif. Diana réside actuellement à Bruxelles, en Belgique.


VON ALLIN

VON ALLIN est une artiste allemande, contemporaine et minimaliste. Sa perspective unique de l’essense impalpable de la vie se traduit par son art puissant, intimidant -et parfois joueur. Après avoir été diplômée de l’Académie de Design de Berlin, VON ALLIN poursuivit une carrière au sein d’agences de design allemandes, leadeuses sur le marché. Etant constamment à la recherche du média parfait pour véhiculer sa vision minimaliste, VON ALLIN voyagea à travers le monde jusqu’à ce qu’elle se décida à changer sa carrière dans le design pour une dans les beaux-arts.

Elle expérimente une grande variété de médias et techniques, notamment la peinture monochrome, les supports mixtes et les installations artistiques. VON ALLIN tira son inspiration de ses propres difficultés à comprendre et gérer certaines émotions, pensées ou situations. Son parcours visant à capturer la quintessence de la vie lui a aussi permis de dévoiler l’importance qu’elle donne aux couleurs comme nous pouvons le voir dans ses peintures monochromes.

Ici, les formes minimalistes offrent le meilleur arrière-plan pour son art puissant. VON ALLIN vit et travaille actuellement à Bonn en Allemagne.





Nos Partenaires

Avec le soutien et la collaboration de:

Degroof Petercam
Sisley
Laurent Perrier